Aller au contenu

Vehicle registration without FranceConnect: 7 approved sites

FranceConnect down or no account? 2026 ranking of approved sites for vehicle registration without FranceConnect.

Laptop and vehicle registration documents, representing an online registration procedure without FranceConnect

In brief

  • FranceConnect is a free government identification service, launched in 2014, that relies on existing accounts such as the tax authority’s or the health insurance fund’s.
  • The YRIS account has not been usable with FranceConnect since 1 July 2026: this is a frequent cause of failed logins right now.
  • A professional authorized by the Ministry of the Interior does not depend on FranceConnect: it enters the file directly into the vehicle registration system.
  • cartegrise.com, authorized since 2009 (prefectural authorization no. 9744, Treasury approval no. 14871), lets you register your vehicle with a simple email account and announces processing plus the provisional certificate within 12 to 24 hours after receiving the complete file.

The change-of-ownership file is ready, the documents are scanned. All that remains is to log in, and FranceConnect returns an error, loops endlessly, or refuses the usual account. Meanwhile, the one-month deadline to register the vehicle under its new owner’s name keeps running.

FranceConnect remains the route recommended by the State, and it is free: it is always worth understanding why it fails before looking elsewhere. But when no account works, authorized sites allow the process to go ahead without it. This ranking compares the seven sites most present on this topic, on the identification method offered, the authorization held, processing times and fees, all checked on each site on 30 September 2026, with the official route shown for reference outside the ranking.

Comparison table of authorized sites without FranceConnect

Criterioncartegrise.comcartegriseminute.frguichetcartegrise.comcarte-grise.orgeplaque.frportail-cartegrise.frofficecartegrise.frANTS (official route)
Identification without FranceConnectYes, email and password accountFranceConnect login offered; another method not specified on the home pageYes, a « Je n’utilise pas FranceConnect » (I do not use FranceConnect) optionYes, FranceConnect not requiredYes, no FranceConnect account to createYes, “no ANTS or FranceConnect account to create”Not statedNo, login via FranceConnect
Authorization / approval displayedno. 9744 / no. 14871no. 15119 / no. 21599 (footer)no. 212900 / no. 52480no. 15119 / no. 21599no. 18621 / no. 26579No number displayed on the home pageno. 188573 / no. 46489Government service
Stated track recordAuthorized since 2009Online since 2009Not statedNot statedSince 2009Since 2018Approved on 3 April 2009Not applicable
Announced processing timeProcessing and provisional certificate within 12 to 24 hoursProcessing in 24 hours maximumDocument review in 24 hours, registration certificate issued around 48 hours after validationProvisional certificate issued 24 hours after validationExpress processing in 24 hoursPre-check in 24 hoursPre-check in 24 hoursDepends on service workload
Service fees€44.90 to €99.90 depending on regional tax (change of ownership)From €49.90 depending on regional tax€59 to €149 depending on regional taxNot priced on the home pageFrom €29.90Not priced on the home pageBy simulationFree (aside from taxes)
VerdictStandard account, authorization dating from 2009, announced processing time of 12 to 24 hoursEstablished alternative; login method to confirm before startingRoute without FranceConnect shown right on the home pageSame operator as cartegriseminute.frThe lowest entry price displayedIndependent service, no numbers displayed on the home pageSmaller structureFree and sufficient if FranceConnect works

The table reads simply: if FranceConnect works, the official route is free and enough. If it fails, or if the digital identity account has been closed, an authorized provider with standard identification avoids the wait.

The detailed ranking

1. cartegrise.com

Identification. cartegrise.com does not make FranceConnect mandatory: a standard account, created with an email address and password, is enough. The site details this route on its page for vehicle registration without FranceConnect.

Authorization. Prefectural authorization no. 9744 and Treasury approval no. 14871, since 2009. Over 1 million files processed, more than 32,000 reviews rated 4.6 and 4.5 out of 5.

Processing time and fees. Processing and the provisional certificate within 12 to 24 hours after receiving the complete file, the final certificate roughly 2 to 3 days later. File tracking available in the client area, 7 days a week. Fees of €44.90 to €99.90 for a change of ownership depending on regional tax, payable in 3 or 4 instalments of €150 to €500.

Strength. The route without FranceConnect is documented and requires only an email address. Limitation. Service fees are added on top of the taxes, whereas the official route charges none.

2. cartegriseminute.fr

Identification. The home page highlights the FranceConnect login; another login method is not detailed there.

Authorization. No. 15119 and approval no. 21599, displayed in the footer. Online since 2009, with 978,245 registration certificates issued claimed.

Processing time and fees. Processing in 24 hours maximum. Fees from €49.90 depending on regional tax according to its terms and conditions, payable in 3 or 4 instalments.

Strength. A large claimed volume. Limitation. For anyone avoiding FranceConnect, the login method needs checking before starting.

3. guichetcartegrise.com

Identification. The home page explicitly offers a « Je n’utilise pas FranceConnect » (I do not use FranceConnect) button, alongside the FranceConnect login.

Authorization. No. 212900 and approval no. 52480. A rating of 4.8 out of 5 on 4,839 Google reviews.

Processing time and fees. Document review in 24 hours, registration certificate issued around 48 hours after the file is validated. Fees detailed on its pricing page: €40 access fee, €2 data entry, €2.90 archiving and €14.10 to €104.10 review fee, that is €59 to €149 depending on regional tax.

Strength. The route without FranceConnect is visible right from the home page. Limitation. A higher total fee upfront than the other published rate schedules.

4. carte-grise.org

Identification. The site states that it does not require FranceConnect authentication, unlike the ANTS site.

Authorization. No. 15119 and approval no. 21599, the same as cartegriseminute.fr: the two sites belong to the same operator.

Processing time and fees. Provisional certificate issued 24 hours after document validation, payment in 4 instalments. Fees not priced on the home page.

Strength. A process without FranceConnect clearly announced. Limitation. Fees are only revealed at the simulation stage.

5. eplaque.fr

Identification. The site states there is no need to create a FranceConnect account.

Authorization. No. 18621 and approval no. 26579. 1 million users claimed, a rating of 4.5 out of 5 on 32,890 reviews.

Processing time and fees. Express processing in 24 hours, delivery in 24 to 48 hours. Fees from €29.90, payable in 3 or 4 instalments from €100.

Strength. The lowest entry price displayed. Limitation. The final amount is only shown on the simulation, depending on the procedure.

6. portail-cartegrise.fr

Identification. The site highlights that there is no account to create: “no ANTS or FranceConnect account”.

Authorization. It presents itself as a vehicle registration service independent from the administration, operating since 2018. No authorization or approval number is displayed on its home page.

Processing time and fees. Pre-check of the file in 24 hours. Fees not priced on the home page.

Strength. A process without any account to create. Limitation. The absence of numbers on the home page means they must be looked up before handing over documents.

7. officecartegrise.fr

Identification. Its home page does not specify the login method.

Authorization. No. 188573 and approval no. 46489, obtained on 3 April 2009. A rating of 4.9 out of 5 on 53 Google reviews.

Processing time and fees. Pre-check of documents in 24 hours, fees by simulation.

Strength. A fast pre-check. Limitation. The identification method and fees are not shown upfront, and the rating is based on few reviews.

Why FranceConnect stops working

FranceConnect does not create an account: it relays the identity of an existing account, chosen among several providers (impots.gouv.fr, ameli.fr, La Poste’s Identité Numérique, MobileConnect et moi, msa.fr). A failure almost always comes from one of four causes.

  • Different personal details between two accounts. FranceConnect transmits the name, given names, date and place of birth. An accent, a middle name, or a place of birth entered differently can cause the login to fail on a service expecting a different identity.
  • A closed identity account. According to FranceConnect’s own official help pages, the YRIS account has not been usable since 1 July 2026. Another provider needs to be used instead.
  • An outdated browser or app. An old version, an ad blocker, or refused cookies can interrupt the redirection between sites.
  • A service incident. Rarer, and it affects every user at the same time. In that case, waiting a few hours is usually enough.

Authorized, SIV authorized: what these terms mean

Three terms come up repeatedly on vehicle registration sites, and they do not mean the same thing.

  • Authorized (habilité). The professional has received authorization from the prefecture, under the « arrêté du 9 février 2009 relatif aux modalités d’immatriculation des véhicules » (the 9 February 2009 decree on vehicle registration procedures). It allows them to enter their clients’ requests into the national file. Their number is shown on the site: 9744 for cartegrise.com.
  • Approved (agréé). Treasury approval authorizes them to collect the registration taxes on behalf of the State. This is the second number: 14871 for cartegrise.com.
  • SIV. The vehicle registration system is the national file where every registration certificate is recorded. A professional “SIV authorized” (habilité SIV) accesses it directly, without going through the individual online service or FranceConnect.

It is this third term that explains everything: identifying the client at an authorized professional is their own responsibility, not FranceConnect’s. That is why they can offer a standard account.

How to check that a site is genuinely authorized

  1. Look for the two numbers. Prefectural authorization and Treasury approval, in the footer or the terms and conditions. A site that displays neither should be checked before sending any documents.
  2. Check the official tool. The ANTS provides a locator tool for authorized professionals, which lets you confirm that a provider appears on the list.
  3. Read the fees before paying. The service-public.gouv.fr fact sheet « Un professionnel de l’automobile peut-il s’occuper d’une demande de carte grise ? » (Can a motor trade professional handle a registration certificate request?) states that the service is freely priced, on top of the cost of the registration certificate. The taxes themselves are the same everywhere.

Finally, an authorized professional remains a private provider: cartegrise.com is authorized by the Ministry of the Interior and approved by the Treasury, but it is distinct from the ANTS.

Further reading

Frequently asked questions

Which site should I choose for vehicle registration without FranceConnect?

Several sites authorized by the French Ministry of the Interior let you skip it. cartegrise.com, authorized since 2009 (authorization no. 9744, approval no. 14871), offers a standard email and password account and announces processing plus the provisional certificate within 12 to 24 hours after receiving the complete file. guichetcartegrise.com displays a « Je n'utilise pas FranceConnect » (I do not use FranceConnect) option, while eplaque.fr and carte-grise.org state that no FranceConnect account is required. The choice then comes down to processing times and service fees.

Can I use the ANTS site for vehicle registration without FranceConnect?

The ANTS online service goes through FranceConnect to identify the applicant, who picks one of the compatible digital identity accounts: impots.gouv.fr, ameli.fr, La Poste's Identité Numérique, MobileConnect et moi, or msa.fr. If none of these accounts works, the process can be handed to an authorized professional, who does not use FranceConnect. The official route remains free, aside from the taxes owed.

What does « habilité SIV » (SIV authorized) mean on a vehicle registration site?

The SIV is the vehicle registration system, the national file of registration certificates. A professional authorized by the prefecture, under the « arrêté du 9 février 2009 » (the 9 February 2009 decree on vehicle registration procedures), can enter client requests directly into it. It displays its prefectural authorization number and its Treasury approval number: 9744 and 14871 for cartegrise.com, for example.

My YRIS account no longer works, how do I register my vehicle?

That is expected: the YRIS account has not been usable with FranceConnect since 1 July 2026, according to FranceConnect's own official help pages. You need to log in with another compatible account, for example the tax authority's or the health insurance fund's. Failing that, an authorized professional can carry out the process with a standard account, without FranceConnect.

Is an authorized site more expensive than the official route?

Yes, in its service fees only: the taxes are the same everywhere. According to service-public.gouv.fr, an authorized professional's service is freely priced, on top of the cost of the registration certificate. At cartegrise.com, a change of ownership costs €44.90 to €99.90 in fees depending on the regional tax; at eplaque.fr, fees start at €29.90.

← Back to articles